please tell me I am paranoid! - BabyUniversity.com - Baby and parenting forums and reviews
User Tag List

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 13 Old 05-05-2002, 11:11 PM - Thead Starter

Likes Earned: 0
Likes Given: 0
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Hi I am new with a question.

My son was born 3 weeks ago. Today we ttok a nap, and I woke up when he started fussing. I waited a few minutes to see if he was really awake, and decided to get up anyway. I went over to his bassinet and thought he wasn't breathing! So I put my hand on his tummy to wake him up, and he jerked awake. Do you think he had stopped breathing, or am I crazy?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 of 13 Old 05-06-2002, 12:27 AM
Addicted Member

I think all new mothers ( some veterans) do that. Ian is my third baby and I do that all the time. He probably didn't stop breathing. But If I were you, I would keep an eye on him just the same. Some babies have sleep apnea, where they stop breathing for a few seconds. But don't worry too much, more than likely he was breathing just fine. At night, I still reach over and lay a hand on Ian's tummy, just to make sure it is still going up and down with each breath.
#3 of 13 Old 05-06-2002, 01:21 AM

That is really scary Laurie! I think I'd have to agree with Shona, but I would definitely mention this to you ds's Dr. just to be on the safe side.
Let us know how you make out, we'll be thinking of you

#4 of 13 Old 05-06-2002, 01:28 AM
Addicted Member

Likes Earned: 11
I would agree about mentioning it to the Dr just to be on the safe side. And yes we all do it I remember my Dad saying how sometimes he would wake up standing by the cot, bc we didn't 'sound right', heck we probably 'baby snored' or something, but better to be safe than sorry
#5 of 13 Old 05-06-2002, 01:50 AM
Addicted Member

Location: In a house with a bunch of walls, windows and doors
Likes Earned: 15